Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist (Peter Sollett, 2008)

I was in one of ‘those moods’ the other day – a kind of pathetic, emotional mood – so I decided to watch one of the more pathetic, emotional films on my long, long list of recommended films.

The film takes place over the course of just one night, despite many, many twists and turns. It begins with Nick, a clearly heartbroken boy, ringing his ex-girlfriend, Tris, and leaving her a long, emotional message, while making her yet another mix tape. When Tris recieves the tape, she laughs scornfully and throws it away, only to have her ‘friend’ Norah listen to it and realise she shares exactly the same music taste as Nick. Despite having never met Nick, her friend Caroline observes that she seems to be ‘in love with him’. One night, they meet, and predictably fall in love, amongst many other events.

istock_000006425694small-300x230The main theme of the film is music, which I loved; I love music, and the way you can express yourself through it. Music is universal, beautiful, and most of all, infinite. Although I felt the film was a bit predictable, I did like the title – and the references to some of my favourite bands was quite exciting too!

Leave a comment